The Grass is Black/The Air is Pink

Icon

feel me/read me/follow me

Mid- Week Update (7)

First, I’d like to acknowledge that yes, I’m guilty of being a very bad blogger… It’s been awhile since my last “Mid- Week Update” post… I’m a very die-hard commitment holding person, forgive me. As for any news…

BOOKS

I just finished reading Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling, and it was nice to refresh my memory on Hogwarts, muggles, Lord Voldemort, Parseltongue, etc. I really look forward to re-reading The Prisoner of Azkaban which is honestly my favorite book in the series.

I began my Colette spree. So far, I’ve read Claudine Married, Gigi; Julie de Carneilhan; Chance Acquaintances and Journey for Myself: Selfish Memories. Next stop: Retreat from Love, which I think I’ve read before, but I’m not too sure.

As I had planned, June 1st, I started reading Some Sing, Some Cry by Ntozake Shange and Ifa Bayeza. It’s been a true delight so far, and unlike anything that I’ve read before. I’m at chapter six.

I’ve also read Pirate Latitudes by Michael Crichton (I hope I spelled his last name right…) for my Goodreads book group. Next is, The Thing Around Your Neck by the Nigerian writer, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I ordered my copy yesterday at the library. It’ll be my first time reading her work and I’m looking forward to a good read.

Other notable mentions of books that I’ve finished reading: Forbidden Knowledge by Roger Shattuck, Love Stories edited by Diana Secker Tesdell, No Exit and three other plays by Jean-Paul Sartre (a re-read) and The Spirit Level: Poems by Seamus Heaney. All were good reads from the risky criticism/condemnation/judgement of Forbidden Knowledge to the wispy, thoughtful poems of the Irish poet.

FILMS/MOVIES

Farewell My Concubine Chinese=good, just as good as the book
The Princess and The Frog animated=best Disney movie I’ve seen. EVER.
La Princess du Montpensier French=I discovered I had another French lover next to (or equal to) Gaspard Ulliel, il s’apelle Raphael Personnaz
Pandora’s Box silent=it was nice to know you can watch and enjoy a movie sansrepetitive and predictable dialogue
Bicentennial Man kind of long, but worth the alternate outlook on life you receive from a robot who desires to be Human ( we are soooo ungrateful…)
Un coeur en hiver French= I’ve very much infatuated with Daniel Auteuil FYI
La Chinoise French=not into politics and social movements much, so I was kinda’ bored but it was worth it to see Jean Pierre Leaud and how cute he puts a cigarette in his mouth
The Rite it was okay, but Sir Anthony Hopkins is BRILLIANT, even in a D movie

ETC.

I’ve been biking like crazy and sweating like a mess, so I’m hoping that by the end of summer, I’ve lost a few pounds…

I’ve started watching episodes of the show Upstairs Downstairs, the 70’s version, and I love it.

I tried eating Lean Cuisine meals, so far, everything’s good but the best ones to try are the fajita style chicken spring rolls and the ranchero braised beef with sweet mashed potatoes…

Latest choclate craze: Ghiradelli Intense Dark Cabernet Matinee

IN THE NEAR FUTURE

My birthday’s in August, and plan on getting my nose pierced to celebrate it.

I hope everyone’s having and continues to have, a great week and a fun summer…

Filed under: life, regarding myself, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

