The Grass is Black/The Air is Pink

Icon

feel me/read me/follow me

from “The Kite Runner” by Khaled Hosseini

I finished this book yesterday and can honestly say that it was a great read. Here’s an excerpt, enjoy.

On those days the rocket fire eased up a bit and the gunfighting was light, Hassan would take Sohrab to the zoo to see Marjan the lion, or to the cinema. Hassan taught him how to shoot the slingshot, and, later, by the time he was eight, Sohrab had become deadly with that thing: He could stand on the terrace and hit a pinecone propped on a pail halfway across the yard. Hassan taught him to read and write- his son was not going to grow up illiterate like he had. I grew very attached to that little boy- I had seen him take his first step, heard him utter his first word. I bought children’s books for Sohrab from the bookstore by Cinema Park- they have destroyed that too now- and Sohrab read them as quickly as I could get them to him. He reminded me of you, how you loved to read when you were little, Amir jan. Sometimes, I read to him at night, played riddles with him, taught him card tricks. I miss him terribly.

Filed under: life, Uncategorized, ,

Leave a Reply

